Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Tom Tribone

Tom Tribone


Tom is the President and CEO of GGIC Ltd. (GGIC). He has led GGIC’s growth from its initial start-up until today. Prior to founding GGIC, Tom was the Executive Vice President of The AES Corporation. He has extensive transaction and operating experience including the completion of transactions with a value totalling over US$30 billion worldwide.

Tom helped develop the strategy of a “Global Power Company” and, pursuant to this strategy, originated a number of first-of-a-kind transactions that are now major areas of economic activity. He executed most of AE’s significant acquisitions of some of the largest utilities. At AES and GGIC he led an extension of each organisation’s expertise into new franchise infrastructure businesses and new regions of the world. He was responsible for the day-to-day operations of businesses with over 20 million customers and 20,000 employees.

Prior to AES, Tom held several management positions with Atlantic Richfield Company including responsibility for the company’s energy and environmental matters. Tom has been a director of both listed and private infrastructure companies as well as member of a number of industry, academic and non-profit boards.


Sonny Lulla

Sonny Lulla

Chief Executive

Sonny is a Senior Vice President of GGIC and has over 17 years of experience in infrastructure M&A, operations, and financing. Prior to co-founding GGIC, Sonny was employed by AES where he was President of AES Brasil Energia with responsibility for several businesses in Brazil generating over US$1 billion in annual revenue.

Additionally Sonny served as special assistant to the chairman of AES, was responsible for the US$2.4 billion restructuring of AES’ investment in Eletropaulo and Light, and led numerous acquisitions in the US and Latin America. Sonny held positions in power and utilities financing and operations at Morgan Stanley, CMS Energy Corporation and Credit Suisse First Boston.


M. S. Ramachandran

M. S. Ramachandran

Non-Executive Director

M. S. Ramachandran has held numerous senior positions in the Indian energy sector. He has extensive corporate and operational experience with Indian Oil Corporation Limited (“Indian Oil”), India’s flagship national oil company, where he started as a management trainee in 1969 and, eventually, left as chairman of the board in 2005.

From 1998 to 2000, prior to his appointment to the board of Indian Oil, Ram served as the Executive Director of the Oil Coordination Committee of India’s Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas. Following his retirement from Indian Oil, Ram has acted as non-executive director or in an advisory capacity for a number of companies and organisations. He is currently chairman of the India-Iraq Economic Cooperation Council and a member of the board of governors of the University of Petroleum & Energy Studies.


Board Committees & Responsibilities

The Audit Committee

The audit committee will meet whenever there is business to discuss and at least twice each year. The audit committee is responsible for ensuring that the financial performance of the Company is properly monitored, controlled and reported on. It will also meet the auditors and review the auditors’ reports relating to accounts and internal control systems.

There are no other committees at this stage as these are not thought to be required given the nature of the company and composition of the board.

The Board is supported by an audit committee which is made up of two non-executive directors.  Following the resignation of Tim Walker, one of the seats on the committee is vacant, the other member being M.S. Ramachandran


Key Personnel

 Balraj Varma

Professional team at Infrastructure India plc. Formerly President of America’s Energy Holding Company, developing hydropower plants in Latin America. Prior to this, Balraj was Executive Vice President of India Hydropower Development Company and Vice President of Dodson-Lindbolm International. He has over 35 years industry experience in project finance, development and construction, operations and company management as well as engineering and environmental consulting. He holds a BE and MS.

Rajeev Dak

Professional team at Infrastructure India plc. Formerly Senior Vice President – Finance and Accounts at Essel Infraprojects Ltd, building highways and urban infrastructure projects in India. Prior to this, Rajeev held senior positions at Zee Entertainment Enterprises Ltd and Essel World. He has over 20 years industry experience in project finance, debt re-structuring, corporate finance, including securitisation and M&A, and company management in both the public and private sectors. He holds a BComm and ACA.

Libby Havercroft

Professional team at Infrastructure India plc. Formerly Director of Mergers and Acquisitions at Fairfax Investment Bank. Prior to this, Libby was at Investec Bank and the London International Financial Futures and Options Exchange. She has over 14 years industry experience in financial services and holds a BA and MBA.